Overture Tool

Formal Modelling in VDM

Overture Tool

Go to our GitHub Profile

Follow @overturetool


The mission of the Overture project is twofold:

The Overture Community

The Overture tools are being developed by volunteers from industry, research scientists and students, currently from Denmark, England, The Netherlands and Japan. You can find an overview of us at our wiki page

Anyone interested (from both industry and academia) is welcome to join the project as an active member. You might be interested in contributing directly to tools building (via our Overture open source project at Github), or you may be interested in developing the formal foundations of VDM++ and Overture. If you are a student (BSc, MSc, PhD), we can provide practical and theoretical projects!

Overture community at large

The Overture community at large (shown above at the 8th Overture workshop on language semantics, held at BCS, London in september 2010) meets together at occasional Workshops (about once per year) and monthly via on-line Netmeetings using Skype. If you want to join the project please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail.

Overture Community Process

In the tradition of open source software development, all contributions to Overture, the language definitions and other aspects, are handled through the Overture Community Process (OCP). The Language Board (LB) has elaborated on the “Initial Consideration” Phase of the OCP and this process is described as the Language Board Process (LBP) description.

Overture Users

Organization Country Point of contact
Aarhus University Denmark Peter Gorm Larsen
Airservices Australia Australia Paul Chisholm
Bang & Olufsen Denmark Klaus Kristensen
Boston University USA Zhiqiang Ren
Designers’ Den Corp Japan Sako Hiroshi
ESA/ESTEC The Netherlands Marcel Verhoef
Fujitsu Services England Nick Battle
Hosei University Japan Shin Sahara
Indiana State University USA Ramachandra Abhyankar
Insiel S.p.A. Italy Enrico Fracasso
Institute of Technology Carlow Ireland Chris Meudec
Institute for System Programming of the Russian Academy of Sciences Russia Nikolay Pakulin
Key Technology Laboratory, Software Research Associates, Inc Japan Tomohiro Oda
Komatsu Ltd Japan Takayuki Mori
Lomonosov Moscow State University Russia Eugene Kornykhin
National Institute of Informatics Japan Fuyuki Ishikawa
NeoPost The Netherlands Peter van Eijk
SCSK Corporation Japan Masayuki Ueki
SofTools USA Janusz Laski
Technical University of Denmark Denmark Anne Haxthausen
Terma Denmark Sune Wolff
UFPE Brazil Augusto Sampaio
Universität der Bundeswehr München Germany Lothar Schmitz
Universität Klagenfurt Austria Andreas Bollin
Univasidad Politécnica de Madrid Spain Manuel Carro
University Malaysia Sarawak Malaysia Edwin Mit
University of Alabama at Birmingham USA Barrett Bryant
University of Minesota USA Mats Heimdahl
University of Minho Portugal José Nuno Oliveira
University of Newcastle England John Fitzgerald
University of Oslo Norway Einar Broch Johnsen
University of Porto Portugal Ana Paiva
University of Salford England Sunil Vadera
University of Twente The Netherlands Val Jones
University of York England Jim Woodcock
University of Wuppertal Germany Hans-Jürgen Buhl
Verheart Belgium Yoni De Witte
Waseda University Japan PengFei Wang
West Consulting The Netherlands Nico Plat